Send Off Party!

Miss North Dakota 2011 Beth Dennison

(left to right) Rosie Savageau, 2nd ru Miss ND '11, Katie Ralston Miss ND '10, Beth Dennison Miss ND '11, Aly Wilhelmi Miss ND Intl '10, Emily Burkland Miss Grand Forks '11

Tonight was my Send Off party for the Miss America Pageant, put on by my local committee the Miss Grand Forks Org. It was a lot of fun showing some of my supporters the wardrobe I’ll be wearing…I especially enjoyed showing the audience my custom talent costume and performing my dance!

Miss North Dakota 2011 Beth Dennison

Beth with Miss Grand Forks Outstanding Teen '10 Grace Sproule

Miss North Dakota 2011 Beth Dennison

Beth with Miss Grand Forks pageant director

Miss North Dakota 2011 Beth Dennison

Beth with Miss Grand Forks '11 Emily Burkland

As I prepare for perhaps the most life changing experience I have encountered in my 22 years, I think a lot about the current role I hold as Miss North Dakota. My interest in Miss America started at a young age, watching the competition and idolizing the contestants was a yearly ritual for me. Now having the opportunity to be someone with the same level of influence for someone else keeps me energized, inspired, and focused. What I love about being Miss North Dakota is having the experience of going into schools and speaking to students about taking initiative with their lives, being creative, and strengthening their work ethic to achieve their dreams.

Something that I didn’t expect to encounter as a state representative is the amount of growth and change I have seen in myself. Being involved with this organization has blessed me in so many ways. As I have traveled around our great state I’ve noticed an increase in my self-esteem as well as improvements in my speaking ability.  This organization has allowed me to become the best woman I can be while continues to inspire me to do more for others and appreciate the world around me.

The next step for me is almost hard to think about, being so close and working so hard for a lifelong dream has been an unique experience, an experience I’m grateful for. The time spent at the Miss America Pageant will surely strengthen the qualities I have already seen an improvement in. At the end of the competition I know I will have represented North Dakota to the best of my ability, made new and lifelong friends, and made my family proud. I believe in purpose and in fate; to me, it’s no mistake that I am where I am today.

I want to encourage my young followers to really think about what you want from life, who you want to be and what you want to become. I want you to look to me as an example. I didn’t win the crown you see me wear by simply luck (although I feel lucky to have been given this honor), it took hard work and determination. Never give up.

Beth Dennison
Miss North Dakota 2011

About missnorthdakota2011

Beth is a student at the University of North Dakota and was crowned Miss North Dakota 2011 in June 2010. Beth held the local title of Miss Grand Forks and her platform is called "A Child's Guide to Becoming a Volunteer."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment